“And the waitress is practicing politics..As the businessmen slowly get stoned”

Listening to this song reminded me of this one time in Amsterdam. I was at this coffee shop and they played a lot of classic rock. I hung out longer and was wryly people watching. Piano Man by Billy Joel came on and I really really listened to the song and sized up the room around me again, and thought to myself this song’s apt background music! Then almost on cue my actors started playing their part and the sets formed themselves for my amusement.

“There’s an old man sitting next to me..Makin’ love to his tonic and gin”. Indeed there was. It seemed to me he had been having that conversation with his drink for awhile now. He must have gone the whole 9 yards with that glass. Right from wooing it, getting it, marrying it, making love to it everything. It was a woman’s body I thought he thought he had in his hands the way he was holding it, being a gentle lover, an outraged beast.. How he was looking at it smitten, passionate, bitter.. The way he shook his head at it in helplessness and submission..

“Well I’m sure that I could be a movie star..If I could get out of this place” As I looked at the listless young guy Man Fridaying the place. He had the air of superiority around him and kept giving the room and it’s people a bored glance every now and then. Intermittently, he would cast his reflection in the bar mirror and almost apologetic nod and then restlessly moving things around. I was so tempted to go up to him pat his back and say..Life’s like that buddy.. too bad but get over it..

“And the waitress is practicing politics..As the businessmen slowly get stoned..Yes, they’re sharing a drink they call loneliness..But it’s better than drinkin’ alone” This guy in a crisp business suit had an aura around him.. like he was begging to be saved. I felt sad for him with his empty eyes, tired face, sagging shoulders, fake smile.. years of wear and tear. He kept calling the waitress over at any pretext and somehow starting conversation. He was genuinely interested in anything she had to say as long as she was fixing her eyes on him.. Was his own life that empty? I shuddered at the thought of years of a mundane life. The waitress was beaming at him for being such an attentive audience and was happy to please..

“Well we’re all in the mood for a melody  and you got us all feeling alright” When u really look hard at what you’re seeing, you see the invisible ink that writes every story..

2 thoughts on ““And the waitress is practicing politics..As the businessmen slowly get stoned”

Leave a Reply

